Sunday, January 15, 2012

"Chief Rabbinate: Häagen-Dazs No Longer Kosher" (Arutz 7)

I hate news stories like this in which the journalists don't understand kashrus well enough to report the story clearly:
The Chief Rabbinate announced on Sunday that Häagen-Dazs ice cream will no longer be considered kosher and will be removed from store shelves.

According to Jewish dietary laws, dairy products that contain milk that was not produced by a Jew are forbidden unless a Jew oversaw the preparation process to ensure the milk from a kosher animal was not mixed with milk from a non-kosher animal.
This means the Rabbinut won't allow non-Cholov Yisroel products anymore?

No comments: